2007-2-24 01:34 AM kinh
RMVB To DVD

I am not good at typing chinese characters so I keep it in English.
I had download a movie in rmvb format. It works fine in my computer but when I try to convert it to DVD format. The software said it cannot open the file (not supported or damaged). I tried 3 different software alloksoft, rmconverter and winavi, it all report the same. I believe it is something wrong inside the rmvb file but I can play it without problems? Do I need a extra steps for convertion??
Thank for your help in advance.
kin

2007-2-24 01:55 AM mickeyGoUp
If you had trouble opening the rmvb file, it is most likely because you are missing the right codec.  Try downloading and installing K-Lite Codec pack from [url]http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Codec_Pack.htm[/url] .

2007-2-24 09:29 AM agelessoldman
[quote]原帖由 [i]kinh[/i] 於 2007-2-24 01:34 AM 發表
I am not good at typing chinese characters so I keep it in English.
I had download a movie in rmvb format. It works fine in my computer but when I try to convert it to DVD format. The software sai ... [/quote]

++EDIT++
Before you go on with my suggestion, have you tried another rmvb file and has the same problem?

Reinstall Windows.
I suggest a reinstall of Windows because it sounds like something is screwed up in your machine, too many hackwares and  different codecs can create major problems. Install WinXP if you can, Win98 and ME are not optimized for video editing/conversions.

If you don't have the OS on separate partition, you can try to do a *repair, which means instead a clean install, Windows will reinstall the system registry only, all the drivers will be gone but all the softwares and apps and other important personal files are left intact. All you need to do afterward is updating the drivers.  Infact I would recommend reinstalling all your applications.

When you're done, install K-Lite as Mickey advised. It is the only codec pack I had found no problems so far.